Two Hours Until NaNoWriMo 2011

That it is. So, with only two hours left until the madness begins, I’d like to say a few words.

I am possibly more excited for NaNoWriMo this year than I ever have been before, although exactly why is difficult to say. Every year, there’s a fantastic energy about the forums, so huge that it’s impossible not to get excited over the thought of this 50,000 (or in my case, 200,000) word venture.

Naturally, I have my concerns. This is the first year I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo that I haven’t had other things to do simultaneously – by other things, I mean coursework and other such commitments, as opposed to the social aspects. For this reason, I’m terribly frightened that I won’t fully take advantage of this opportunity, as though I’ll have too much time on my hands. Without that constant battle, finding times and places to write at every given moment, I fear I might slip off the beaten path and into procrastination hell. I mean, what’s stopping me from just writing for one or two hours a day and just sleeping for the rest? I can’t afford to do this, of course … I need a routine!

On the other hand, this might just be the concentrated effort I have been in need of. What I mean by that is that it’s simple enough for me to sit down and hammer out perhaps a thousand words in a few short sittings, and do this maybe two or three times a month. It’s not so much that I lose my way with projects is that I’m easily distracted, and yet every November until now, NaNoWriMo has ensured that I am not nearly as easily distracted as I usually am. Sitting down to write, knowing that I only have thirty days in which to write all of it, and seeing my stats page come to a standstill is unsettling enough to give me a brief kick and force me to get on with it. Perfect, in other words.

Fears and aims aside, I feel reasonably at ease with the prospect of starting my project within the next two hours. I haven’t prepared as much as I usually do, though I put this mostly down to the fact that, in the cases of most of my characters, I’m starting from a single idea and just running with it throughout their stories. The direction is always a killer for me; as long as I have a fairly concrete plot, which I do, I feel ready to tackle that mountain of words!

Or fall from halfway up said mountain. We’ll see what happens.

5 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

5 responses to “Two Hours Until NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Good Luck Felicity

    DarkJade-

  2. quillwielder

    Good Luck! I’m participating too!

  3. Good luck! I’m attempting NaNoWriMo for the first time this year, and have already realised that it’s going to be more difficult than I thought… But we love a challenge!

    … Have you really done 25,000 words already???

    • Thanks! :D and good luck to you also! … and a challenge is always good indeed, but I know what you mean! my first year, every thousand words was a massive struggle for me. I took ten days out, just not writing, but someone gave me a thorough going over, told me what was what and got me back in a good place. xD

      *Sweats* … heh, yeah. I … don’t really have much going on right now (unemployed/out of college), so I’ve been taking the chance to get ahead and give myself a bit of a challenge. Last year I made 50k in 6 or 7 days, so halving that this year!

  4. Thanks guys. ^^ good luck to both of you, also! :D

Leave a Reply

